The tragic beginning of this chapter

I was in a horrific car accident in the early morning hours of November 4, 2016. I was on my way home from a late night bartending shift, and it had just begun to freeze. I hit a patch of black ice covered by those late fall leaves, and lost control of my Volvo. The car went off the road, and into a tree. 
I knew that the accident wasn’t good because the airbags went off, but I wasn’t feeling a lot of pain. The first thing I did was shit the car off, so I could get out and see the damage. 

I didn’t make it that far. 
I opened the car door, stepped out, and collapsed. I didn’t know what was wrong, but I suddenly knew that something was VERY wrong. 

I laid there on the ground for a moment, and tried to figure out what had happened to my once strong body, and what I was going to do next. I knew something was wrong with my leg – maybe both of them. And my humerus (the top bone in my arm) was definitely broken. Once I figured this out, I needed to try to get back into the car. It was freezing out, and I was only wearing my work clothes and a sweater. 

I tried to climb back into the front seat through the open door, but because of my arm, I was unable to pull my body up at a workable angle. I managed to pull my body to the back door somehow, and turned myself so that I could get the door handle open. That was exhausting, and I still had to try to get into the car. 

I’m not even really sure how I did it, and I have no idea how long it took. I knew I needed to try to warm up. I knew I needed to try to get my cell phone. I could guide the broken arm by moving my elbow with the opposite hand. I tried to reach my purse using this method. It was unsuccessful. I tried to turn my body, but my legs were in pain, too. 

I sat there, in the backseat of my car, broken and bleeding for two hours. I sat there hoping that someone would see my car and call it in. I watched several cars go by without noticing me. Every time, I got my hopes up. Every time, I cried as they continued on. 

Finally, a truck stopped, and an ambulance pulled up. This wonderful fireman immediately placed his coat around my shoulders. I still didn’t know what was wrong with me, but I knew I couldn’t walk. Unfortunately, I had to to get to the stretcher. 

They took superb care of me in the brief ambulance ride, and made sure I had any personal effects I needed from the car. 

After numerous tests, scans, and X-rays, I was diagnosed with the following injuries:

  • Severe concussion. 
  • Mild hypothermia. 
  • Serious laceration of my right ear. 
  • Severe sprain of left ankle and avulsion fracture of left talus.
  • Right hip dislocation. 
  • Right femoral head fracture. 
  • Right humerus fracture. 

After determining the extent of my injuries, I was stabilized and sent to a hospital more equipped to handle this. Upon my arrival there, I was sent to surgery to repair my femur, and sew up my ear. 

Apparently, my ear was halfway torn off of my head, and I never noticed. Plastic surgery fixed that up, and you’d never know that anything had happened today. I had 6 screws placed into the head of my femur, and my humerus was placed into traction. 

My GoFundMe if you’re feeling generous

Leave a Reply

